- Chandlers' Funeral Service - https://www.chandlersfuneral.com -

Doubleday; Avis Ellen

Posted By Obits On November 29, 2019 @ 11:03 am In Obituaries | 49 Comments

Avisinframe

Doubleday, Avis Ellen, age 59, of Liverpool, passed away on Thursday, November 28th, 2019, at Queens Manor.
Born in Halifax, she was a daughter of the late John and Faye (Robar) Doubleday.
Avis was an active volunteer and enjoyed bingo as well as other activities at Queens Manor. She loved life and cats.
She is survived by a sister, Mary Anthony, of Liverpool; brothers, Monty, Alfred, both of Liverpool, Edward (Norma), Charlie (Bonnie), both of Milton.
She was predeceased by a sister, Irene.
Visitation will be held on Monday, December 2nd, 2019, from 12:30 – 2:00 p.m., followed by a funeral service at 2:00 p.m., all from Chandlers’ Funeral Home, Liverpool. Reverend Judy Cross officiating. Burial will be in Trinity Anglican Cemetery, Bog Road, Liverpool. Family flowers only. Donations may be made to the family. To share memories or condolences, please visit www.chandlersfuneral.com

Offer Condolence for the family of Doubleday; Avis Ellen

Print Obituary & Condolences Print Obituary & Condolences

Condolences for the family of “Doubleday; Avis Ellen”

Condolence from Vivian (Whynot) Croft on November 29th, 2019 11:49 am

So sorry to hear of your loss

Condolence from Randi Dickie on November 29th, 2019 11:51 am

This is a sad time to think of the passing of Avis . She will be missed by many and my thoughts are of you . Her friends at Queens Manor gave her such joy which has been a blessing !
With sympathy
Randi

Condolence from Cathie Pearl–Wentzell on November 29th, 2019 12:25 pm

To Avis’ Family,

Please accept our sincerest condolences. Gone from this earth, but not from your hearts.

Condolence from “BIG” DAVID LEBLANC on November 29th, 2019 12:40 pm

my condolences to the family and friends

Condolence from Fay Moreau on November 29th, 2019 12:46 pm

Alfred,Mary, and family so sorry for your loss, accept my condolences

Condolence from Judi Maillett on November 29th, 2019 1:20 pm

So sorry to see Avis has passed away at such a young age. Avis always had a smile. She was one of the sweetest people I ever met. She will be missed.

Condolence from Donna Sampson-Dowling on November 29th, 2019 1:56 pm

So sorry to hear of Avis passing, Deepest sympathy to all her family.

Condolence from Yvonne McNamara and Brian Muise on November 29th, 2019 2:03 pm

Our sincere Condolences to Edward and his family.

Condolence from Kim Mansfield on November 29th, 2019 2:13 pm

So sorry for your loss….sending my sincere condolences

Condolence from Jeff Roy n family on November 29th, 2019 2:16 pm

We are truly sorry about hearing this..god bless the family n friends..she’s a angel now not having any pain everyday..rest in peace

Condolence from Shelley Boens on November 29th, 2019 2:22 pm

So sorry for your loss, keep her memories alive and her close to your hearts.

Condolence from judy quinn on November 29th, 2019 2:23 pm

she was a special friend R IP

Condolence from S. Ellis on November 29th, 2019 2:34 pm

I wish you comfort during your loved one. The Bible promises that your loved one will come back to life in the resurrection to a peaceful paradise on the earth. (John 5:28, 29)

Condolence from Zona Hatt on November 29th, 2019 2:38 pm

Monty my deepest sympathy to you & your family. Memories are a true blessing & may these will bring some comfort as you grieve with both tears & laughter.

God Bless
Zona

Condolence from Shirley Melanson on November 29th, 2019 2:42 pm

Avis will be sorely missed by her fellow residents and staff at Queens Manor.She always had a smile and was so happy to.help.God bless you in Heaven.

Condolence from Gail Huntley on November 29th, 2019 2:44 pm

So sorry to hear of Avis’ passing. I remember her well from her time at QASL.Gail

Condolence from Vicky and Bernie Schrader on November 29th, 2019 2:48 pm

So sorry to hear

Condolence from Holly Smith on November 29th, 2019 3:09 pm

To Avis’ family and to staff and residents of Queens Manor,
It was so sad to read of the passing of Avis. I didnt really know her until my Mom became a resident.of the manor. Avis seemed to be involved in most things going on there, and was a great help to the recreation staff, always seeming to anticipate what needed to be done next. Her life mattered so much, despite her disabilities.
My sincere condolences to her family and many friends. Queens Manor certainly won’t be the same without her. Rest easy Avis….
Holly Smith

Condolence from Darlene & John Chandler on November 29th, 2019 3:12 pm

Dear Charlie, Monty & family, we are so sorry for your sad loss. We are thinking of you all and sending prayers for strength during this difficult time.

Condolence from Shirley and Paul Neals on November 29th, 2019 3:39 pm

Sorry to hear of your family’s loss. Avis had a kind soul !

Condolence from valerie joudrey on November 29th, 2019 4:06 pm

when i was in the hospital avis was there to help me get settled into my hospital bed.she was a sweet lady always there to help.she will be missed dearly by those who knew her. rest in peace little one.

Condolence from Darlene Henderson on November 29th, 2019 4:56 pm

So very sorry for your loss ,,my heart goes out to the family ,,,Avis was such a special person her laughter light up a room ,,,,she helped others and was such a great helper to everyone ,,,,u will be sadly missed Sweet Avis ,,,,,,but I will never forget u ,,,queens Manor will never be the same without u RIP sweet lady ,

Condolence from Alta Mason on November 29th, 2019 5:13 pm

To all of Avis’s family. I am saddened to hear about the passing of Avis. She loved everyone at the Manor and loved being the big helper Avis will be missed by so many.
May your hearts be eased knowing that her earthly suffering is over and she is now at peace in the arms of Jesus. We will miss her bright smile. sending sincere condolences and healing prayers.

Condolence from David Whynot on November 29th, 2019 5:25 pm

Sorry to hear of Avis,s passing she was a sweet heart full of great Sense of Humor Rest in Peace Avis and you are now flying with the Angels

Condolence from Jean Blades on November 29th, 2019 5:54 pm

I wish to extend my most sincere condolence to Avis’ family, friends, and Queens Manor staff. I met Avis while visiting my mother at the manor a few years ago, and she was a sweetheart. So sad to see that she has passed. Sending love and prayers. Jean

Condolence from Sherri Harrington on November 29th, 2019 6:52 pm

Sending sincere condolences to the Family.

Condolence from Sandi Humphrey on November 29th, 2019 6:55 pm

So saddened to learn that Avis has passed. Sympathies to her family as well as to her family at Queens Manor who will all miss her so.

Condolence from Phyllis on November 29th, 2019 8:04 pm

So sorry for your loss Monty & Family … RIP Avis .

Condolence from Ed and Evie Fisher on November 29th, 2019 8:23 pm

Sending sincere condolences to the family.

Condolence from Mary Lowe on November 29th, 2019 8:27 pm

To The Family of Avis Doubleday:

Please accept my sincere Condolences on the lost
of your loved one…

Condolence from Charlene on November 29th, 2019 9:00 pm

Dear Doubleday Family,
So very sorry for your loss. I will miss seeing her and her smug grin. Some are taken way to soon. My thoughts are with you at this time.

Sincerely

Condolence from Charlene and Bruce White on November 29th, 2019 9:31 pm

So sorry to hear that dear Avis has left us. She was a bright shining star…always ready to chip in and lend a hand. We will miss her at the Manor.

Condolence from Pam miles on November 29th, 2019 9:46 pm

To Avis’s family
On one of my hospital stays several years ago, a sweet lady welcomed me and said if I needed anything to just let her know. I will never forget her!
That someone was Avis; she watched over me till i went home. Rest in peace beautiful lady. Bless this family!

Condolence from Peggy & Francis Payzant on November 29th, 2019 10:59 pm

Dear Alfred, Monty, Charlie Edward & Mary,
I Am So SorryTo See That Avis Has Passed Away. Avis Always Was So Friendly And Cheerful. You All Will Miss Her. Rest In Peace Avis And Spread Your Wings. You Have Certainly Earned Them. Cherish All Your Memories Of Avis, And Keep Them Close To Your Heart.
Sincerely;
Peggy Payzant.

Condolence from Shelley&Scott Hubley on November 29th, 2019 11:25 pm

So sorry for your loss Edward & Norma,and the rest of Avis’s family and friends hugs to you all.:(

Condolence from Bob and Brenda Lohnes on November 30th, 2019 8:44 am

Edward Norma and Family: Sorry for your loss.

Condolence from John and Janice Francis on November 30th, 2019 9:14 am

Our sincere condolences to the family.

John and Janice Francis

Condolence from Billand Anna Cox on November 30th, 2019 9:27 am

Doubleday family

Sorry for your loss we extend our deepest sympathy

Condolence from Willis & Corina on November 30th, 2019 11:08 am

So sorry for your loss…she will be missed…especially at the Manor…no matter what was going on Avis was there to help…her smile was contagious…you are free from pain..Flying High with the Angels…Rest Easy

Condolence from Tara on November 30th, 2019 12:22 pm

Dear Family

My heart is so sad, I have lost a dear friend and what seems to have been an amazing colleague. She worked tirelessly along side our recreation staff as a volunteer and I could always rely on Avis’s help and support. She truly cared about her family at Queens Manor and was always thinking and suggesting ways to better improve life for, as she would write “ all the kids at Queens Manor” . A brilliant woman that I am proud to call my friend. My thoughts are with all of you and we will miss her everyday at Queens Manor.

Condolence from Helen & David Fox on November 30th, 2019 5:01 pm

We are so sorry to see that Avis has passed away. Please except our condolences.

Condolence from Lynn Kempton-Lowe on November 30th, 2019 7:04 pm

I was so sorry to read the sad news that Avis has passed away. I remember the first day that Larry was admitted to Queen’s Manor back in April of 2013, we found a note written with a crayon on his wall with the words, ‘Welcome to your new Home!’ written on it – and that was our first encounter with your loving, caring, gentle ‘Avis’ – who could make those around her feel better just knowing that she was a friend to all. I think that Tara has summed it up so well when she wrote that Avis really cared about her ‘family’ at Queen’s Manor! … There were countless times when I was called upon to play the piano for a Church service and didn’t know where to find the song books or the music! I soon learned that the person who I could always turn to was Avis. We enjoyed her company so much and her sense of humour and her love of music. I have fond memories of sitting out in the garden on the swinging chair, while Avis shared pictures of kittens from a magazine with us. She will be missed by those that she left behind. Love from Lynn and Larry xoxo

Condolence from Muriel and Raymond Whynot on December 1st, 2019 10:17 am

So very sorry to hear this tragic news Avis was a very kind and loving person She enjoyed life She will be missed by all who knew here Now you are at rest Avis

Condolence from Jane Payzant on December 1st, 2019 3:15 pm

Please except my deepest sympathy.As volunteer at tha Manor I saw Avis on Tuesdays as she enjoyed and often won Bingo games.She will be missed for all the help she enjoyed giving.

Condolence from Frank and Jane Croft on December 1st, 2019 7:03 pm

So sorry to hear of the passing of Avis. Sending our condolences to her family. May She Rest In Peace♥️
Frank and Jane Croft

Condolence from John Dexter and family on December 2nd, 2019 6:46 pm

Very sorry to hear of Avis passing. Spent many years with her when she attended the QASC in Milton and always enjoyed chatting with her at the manor.

Condolence from Peggy Kelley on December 3rd, 2019 2:13 pm

Sorry to hear of Avis’s passing.We will miss her at the manor.Thinking of you at this time.

Condolence from Bernadette & Danny Manthorne on December 3rd, 2019 2:15 pm

Sorry for your loss. Will miss her infectious smile at the Manor. R.I.P.

Condolence from Ruth Hemeon on December 28th, 2019 10:39 am

We are sorry to hear of Avis’s passing.She was such a great lady.Teresa was close with her and misses her very much.Prayers for all family members and friends.

Ruth,Freddie and Teresa

Article printed from Chandlers' Funeral Service: https://www.chandlersfuneral.com

URL to article: https://www.chandlersfuneral.com/doubleday-avis-ellen/

Copyright © 2010 Chandlers' Funeral Service. All rights reserved.